Journal of Indian Academy of Oral Medicine and Radiology

: 2015  |  Volume : 27  |  Issue : 1  |  Page : 164--165



Correspondence Address:

How to cite this article:
. IAOMR News.J Indian Acad Oral Med Radiol 2015;27:164-165

How to cite this URL:
. IAOMR News. J Indian Acad Oral Med Radiol [serial online] 2015 [cited 2023 Feb 7 ];27:164-165
Available from:

Full Text

 XXVI National Conference of the Indian Academy of Oral Medicine and Radiology


The XXVI National Conference of the Indian Academy of Oral Medicine and Radiology (IAOMR) was conducted on the 21 st , 22 nd , and 23 rd of November 2014 with the theme "Innovate, Integrate, Motivate" at Dr. TMA Pai International Convention Centre in Mangalore, Karnataka. The conference turned out to be a mega success with 875 delegates actively participating. The organizing team comprised Dr. K. Prashanth Shenoy as the organizing chairman, Dr. Junaid Ahmed as the organizing secretary, Dr. Laxmikanth Chatra as the chairman of scientific committee, and Dr. Ragahvendra Kini as the treasurer. About 460 scientific papers and 175 posters were presented, which included about 75 faculty papers. The inauguration ceremony of the conference was conducted on 21 st November at the Eden Club, Mangalore. During the conference, the annual IAOMR awards for the year 2014 were distributed.

Distinguished international keynote speakers for the conference were Dr. Thomas List from Sweden and Dr. Sanjay Mallya from the USA. Keynote speeches were delivered by five distinguished national speakers as well, viz., Dr. B. M. Hegde from Mangalore, Dr. Ganesh Pai from Mangalore, Dr. Gnanasundaram from Chennai, Dr. A. B. Surveyor from Mumbai, and Dr. Hemanth Umerji from Mumbai. Along with panel discussion and debates, a symposium on the TMJ was also conducted with Dr. Thomas List from Sweden, Dr. Ravi Pupalla from Hyderabad, and Dr. Chethan Hegde from Mangalore as the speakers. Preconference courses were conducted on "Evidence-based Dentistry" by Dr. Bharath Mody, on "CBCT" by Dr. Sanjay Mallya, on "Forensic Odontology" by Dr. Ajit D. Dinkar, and on "Radiotherapy" by Dr. Suresh Rao.

 XXVI Annual General Body Meeting of IAOMR


The XXVI Annual General Body Meeting (AGBM) of IAOMR was conducted at Dr. TMA Pai International Convention Centre in Mangalore, Karnataka, on the afternoon of 22 nd November 2014. The meeting was chaired by Dr. Basavaraj Kallali, President of IAOMR. Around 300 members attended the meeting. The business in the house was carried out in a smooth and cordial manner. One of the important decisions, related to the journal, taken at the meeting was to make the back-issues of JIAOMR online from 2003 onward. Dr. K. Sri Krishna, the Editor-in-Chief, requested the august gathering to generate funds for the same amounting to around Rs. 250,000, following which the members present generously promised to contribute for the cause. Dr. B. Vijay Kumar announced a donation of Rs. 10,000; Dr. A. B. Surveyor, Rs. 15,000; Dr. Selvamuthukumar, Rs. 10,000; Dr. M. K. Sunil, Rs. 5000; Dr. Basavaraj N. Kallali, Rs. 15,000; Dr. Neeta Misra, Rs. 5000; Dr. Ashwini Kumar, Rs. 10,000; and Dr. Ulhas Wagh announced a donation of Rs. 5000. The Hon. President then asked the august body if permission could be granted to the Head Office to fund the deficit in making the archives online, to which the members unanimously decided to grant permission to the Head Office. This was proposed by Dr. C. V. Mohan and seconded by Dr. Bharat Mody. The new office bearers for the year 2015 were elected and installed, viz., Dr. Gopakumar R. Nair as the President-Elect, Dr. A. Ravi Kiran, Dr. Ajay Parihar, and Dr. Neeta Misra as the three Vice Presidents, and Dr. Prashanth Shenoy, Dr. Shobha B. Sikkerimath, Dr. Avinash Tejasvi, Dr. Mohit Pal Singh, Dr. B. K. Ramnarayan, and Dr. Dipti Bhatnagar as the Executive Committee Members. Dr. S. Jayachandran and Dr. Basavaraj N. Kallali were also installed as the President and Imm. Past President, respectively. The AGBM was followed by a gala banquet.

 The Fourth Executive Committee Meeting of EC-2014

The 4 th Executive Committee (EC) Meeting of EC-2014 was conducted on 21 st November 2014 at the Board Room, Eden Club, Mangalore. The meeting started at around 3:00 PM. The meeting began with the collaring of the President, Dr. Basavaraj Kallali, by the Honorary Secretary (HGS), Dr. S. Shiva Prasad. The meeting was called to order by the President. The meeting was conducted in a smooth and cordial manner. The minutes of the 3 rd EC meeting and the action taken were confirmed and passed. The accounts of the previously conducted events were discussed. Members opined that letters be sent from the Head Office to the organizing secretaries of events who have not yet submitted the audited accounts. Next the election process and the nominations received for the post of President-Elect, Vice President, and EC members were discussed. Matters regarding the UG, PG, and staff essay competitions, best dissertation competition, and the best outgoing student award in Oral Medicine and Radiology at the university level were discussed. The meeting ended with the Hon. President thanking all the EC members for a job well done in running the office of the Academy for the year 2014 and supporting him. The meeting was then adjourned by the President.

 Obituary: Dr. Vinod Madanlal Patni


Dr. Vinod Madanlal Patni, a member of IAOMR (LM-38), a fountainhead of knowledge who always remained a source of inspiration, an individual who was hardworking, selfless, and caring, passed away on 3 rd November 2014 in Wardha.